A Brief History

Who is Akela? Baden-Powell, the founder of Scouting, based Cub Scouting on one of the stories in Rudyard Kipling’s Jungle Book. It was called “Mowgli’s Brothers.” We know it as “The Story of Akela and Mowgli.” A copy of part of the story is in the Wolf Cub Scout Book. The story is continued in the Bear Cub Scout Book. A part of the story is also in the Cub Scout Leader Book.

BSA Cub Scouting has drawn upon the adventure and lore of the Native American, just as it has influenced Boy Scouting; but a strong influence from Kipling’s Jungle Book still remains. The words “Law of the Pack,” “Akela,” “Wolf Cub,” “Grand Howl,” “den,” and “pack” all come from the Jungle Book. The gold and silver arrows, Webelos, and Arrow of Light are taken from our Native American heritage.

Baden-Powell said it best — “Scouting is fun with a purpose.”

Past Cubmasters
Bob Volp 2013 – present
Scott Musel 2010 – 2013
Katherine Coady 2008 – 2010
Richard Townsend 2007
Thomas Hunter 2001 – 2006
Karen Seidl 1992 – 2000
Mary Bell 1989 – 1991
John Cahill 1986 – 1988
Phillip Yurgae 1985
Lawrence Ness 1980 – 1984
Charles Martinez 1979
Ron Gathercole 1978
Richard Beauter 1977
Tom Schaffner 1976
Richard Ford 1975
Gerald Hickey 1974
Eugene Strutzel 1970 – 1973
Dr. Clement O’Meara 1969
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

Proudly powered by WordPress Theme: Adventure Journal by Contexture International.